See every side of every news story
Published loading...Updated

Lions Hooker Sheehan Handed Four-Match Ban over Lynagh Foul

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA, AUG 4 – Dan Sheehan received a four-match ban for reckless contact with Tom Lynagh's head during the Lions' 22-12 loss to Australia, with no mitigation granted by World Rugby's review committee.

  • On Monday, World Rugby announced a four-match suspension, reducible to three, for British & Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan after an illegal foul on Australia first-five Tom Lynagh in Sydney.
  • During Saturday’s 22-12 loss to Australia, Sheehan elbowed Lynagh in a ruck, and referee Nika Amashukeli failed to penalise the incident.
  • The independent review committee found that Sheehan's actions were contrary to Law 9.20, and that he made head contact with the Australian player, as World Rugby added, `'In determining foul play, the committee found that Sheehan's actions were reckless. The committee found that he made head contact with the Australian player, that his action amounted to a high degree of danger and that no mitigation applied.'`
  • Sheehan will now miss Leinster Rugby’s matches against Cardiff on September 13, and the URC fixtures against the Stormers and the Sharks on September 26 and October 11.
  • Missing a key forward, Leinster Rugby faces challenges as the suspension prevents Dan Sheehan from participating in early fixtures, including key matches against South African teams.
Insights by Ground AI
Does this summary seem wrong?

18 Articles

Think freely.Subscribe and get full access to Ground NewsSubscriptions start at $9.99/yearSubscribe

Bias Distribution

  • 50% of the sources lean Left
50% Left

Factuality 

To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium

Ownership

To view ownership data please Upgrade to Vantage

ruck.co.uk broke the news in on Monday, August 4, 2025.
Sources are mostly out of (0)