Published • loading... • Updated
A Costly Misunderstanding: Titans’ Callahan Admits He Didn’t Know NFL Catch Rule
Brian Callahan acknowledged his misunderstanding of the NFL catch rule, which led to a missed challenge costing the Titans a key 23-yard reception during their season opener loss.
- The Tennessee Titans lost 20-12 to the Denver Broncos in their Week 1 2025 game where rookie receiver Elic Ayomanor's catch was ruled incomplete.
- The incompletion call happened because head coach Brian Callahan misinterpreted the NFL catch rule and chose not to challenge the ruling.
- Replay showed Ayomanor landed with his elbow inbounds but did not set both feet down, causing confusion about whether the catch met the rule's requirements.
- Callahan admitted, "an elbow doesn't equal two feet" and said, "I should have challenged the ruling," taking full responsibility for the mistake.
- The missed challenge contributed to the Titans' narrow loss and added pressure on Callahan, whose overall 3-15 record puts him at risk of losing his head coaching job.
Insights by Ground AI
24 Articles
24 Articles

+4 Reposted by 4 other sources
A costly misunderstanding: Titans’ Callahan admits he didn’t know NFL catch rule
DENVER (AP) — Brian Callahan stands corrected — unlike the call he failed to challenge. The Titans' second-year coach acknowledged Monday that he didn'
·Washington, United States
Read Full Article

Titans coach Brian Callahan admits he didn't know rule on botched challenge
Tennessee head coach Brian Callahan admitted Monday that his interpretation of the NFL catch rule was "wrong" and that the Titans should have challenged a key play in Sunday's 20-12 loss to the Denver Broncos.
·Georgia, United States
Read Full ArticleCoverage Details
Total News Sources24
Leaning Left8Leaning Right2Center8Last UpdatedBias Distribution44% Left, 44% Center
Bias Distribution
- 44% of the sources lean Left, 44% of the sources are Center
44% Center
L 44%
C 44%
11%
Factuality
To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium