Published 2 years ago • loading... • Updated 2 years ago
Google to start permanently deleting users’ location history
- Users will receive emails about changes to Google Maps, emphasizing updating settings promptly to avoid losing Timeline data.
- Google will delete users' previous location data, with a deadline of December 1 to save old journeys before deletion.
- Google is also reducing the default storage time for location history.
Insights by Ground AI
13 Articles
13 Articles
This is a big win for privacy, but the web view is completely lost. Users have until December 1st to transfer their data.
Google Maps renames location history, empowers users with timeline: What it means
Google Maps undergoes a privacy-focused overhaul, shifting to store location data on users' devices instead of servers. Renamed ‘Timeline,’ the feature allows users greater control over their data.
Google Maps: Soon, you will not see location history timeline on web maps
Google Maps Location History: Reportedly, location history will now be called timeline and Google Maps will store it on on-device storage and not on cloud. Therefore, it will not be available if you access Maps on browser
Coverage Details
Total News Sources13
Leaning Left4Leaning Right2Center2Last Updated50% Left
Bias Distribution
- 50% of the sources lean Left
50% Left
L 50%
C 25%
R 25%
Factuality
To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium










